The Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies presents:

The Inaugural Richard K. Betts Lecture on War and Peace:

“War and International Politics” with John J. Mearsheimer

Thursday, November 16, 2023


Garden Room 2, First Floor, Faculty House

Directions to Faculty House


Introduced by V. Page Fortna, Director, Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies; Harold Brown Professor of US Foreign and Security Policy, Department of Political Science, Columbia University

Lecture by John J. Mearsheimer, R. Wendell Harrison Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science, University of Chicago

This talk will focus on the central role that great-power war plays in shaping how policymakers think about international relations. Special attention will be paid to probing the essence of politics and how it relates to the military instrument.

Speaker Bio:

John J. Mearsheimer is the R. Wendell Harrison Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science at the University of Chicago, where he has taught since 1982. He graduated from West Point (1970), has a PhD in political science from Cornell University (1981), and has written extensively about security issues and international politics.

Among his seven books, The Tragedy of Great Power Politics (2001, 2014) won the Joseph Lepgold Book Prize and has been translated into nine languages; The Israel Lobby and U.S. Foreign Policy (with Stephen M. Walt, 2007), made the New York Times bestseller list and has been translated into twenty-five languages; and The Great Delusion: Liberal Ideals and International Realities (2018), won the 2019 Best Book of the Year Award from the Valdai Discussion Conference, Moscow and has been translated into nine languages. His latest book is How States Think: The Rationality of Foreign Policy (with Sebastian Rosato, 2023).

He has also written numerous articles and op-eds that have appeared in International Security, The Economist, The London Review of Books, Foreign Affairs, The Financial Times, and The New York Times. In 2003, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and in 2020, he won the James Madison Award, which is given once every three years by the American Political Science Association to β€œan American political scientist who has made a distinguished scholarly contribution to political science.”